The Harlow invites artists to submit artwork to Art2019, the 24th annual juried show and second annual juried show to be held at their new location, 100 Water Street in Hallowell. Art2019 will be on view May 10-June 15, 2019 and an opening reception will be held on Friday, May 10 from 5-7 with an awards ceremony at 6pm. Art2019 is open to all Maine artists and to any artist with a strong connection to Maine. This year’s juror is Myron M. Beasley, Ph.D., a professor at Bates College, artist writer, and international curator. His writing explores the intersection of cultural politics, art and social change. To read more about Myron Beasley please visit:

The deadline for electronic submissions is 11:59pm on April 1, 2019. Original fine art in any media may be submitted, including but not limited to painting, sculpture, digital, printmaking, fiber, photography, mixed media, ceramics, installation and more. Each artist may submit up to three works of art, which must be the artist’s own original work created within the last three years. Art that has been previously exhibited at the Harlow is not eligible. All works entered must be original work by the submitting artist. Giclees and other reproductions are not eligible

For complete entry rules and instructions please visit For more information please call 207-622-3813 or email

The Harlow is a membership based 501(c)3 nonprofit dedicated to connecting and celebrating art, artists and community in downtown historic Hallowell since 1963. Exhibitions are always free and open to the public. Hours are Wednesday-Saturday noon-6pm.

The Harlow is supported by the City of Hallowell, Kennebec Savings Bank, the Roxanne Quimby Foundation and by our members. 2019 Season Sponsors are Book Orchard Press, Capitol Dental Care, Chris Walters Productions, Great Gatherings, Doug & Melinda Jennings, Eaton Peabody Attorneys at Law and Scrummy Afters Candy Shoppe. Programming is funded in part by a Partnership Grant from the Maine Arts Commission, an independent state agency supported by the National Endowment for the Art.